Basilica of the National Shrine of the Little Flower


The Basilica began as Our Lady of Mt. Carmel and St. Thérèse Church. The Basilica opened under the direction of Spanish Discalced Carmelite friars. The friars came to San Antonio in 1926 by way of Torreon, Mexico. In 1931, the Basilica was dedicated as a shrine to St. Thérèse of Lisieux, the “Little Flower.”

The Basilica was built during the Great Depression, following the 1925 canonization of St. Thérèse. The Basilica is still under the direction of the Discalced Carmelite friars of the Province of St. Thérèse. Today, it stands as a monument to the great faith of the devotees of St. Thérèse. 

The Shrine’s notable size, beauty, and spiritual significance led to the Shrine’s placement on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988. Furthermore, it was elevated to the status of Minor Basilica within the Catholic Church.

It is a center of spiritual and apostolic activity. We invite you to renew your commitment to God and begin a new journey in faith at the Basilica.

%d bloggers like this: